Skip to content

Details from my home

November 14, 2010

When the time I can spend on photography gets a little short, I turn to the things around me for possible motives. Sometimes the photos turn out to be disasters, and sometimes they turn out alright. And when they turn out alright, they kind of make my see the things that are close to me a little different.

Taking a step back from the ordinary and looking at it in another way often add something to an established understanding.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 3:26 pm

    that last sentence rings so true.

    i love the muted tones in your home, soothing. my place just feels like a mess of late!

  2. November 14, 2010 4:45 pm

    They said that you don’t need to go outside if you want to capture beautiful things because they are right there inside your home.

  3. November 15, 2010 10:03 am

    Yes, it is so true. You pictures make me feel calm. Thank you for this. Have a great week!

  4. November 16, 2010 3:19 pm

    I really like these. What’s that song on the piano?

    • November 16, 2010 9:29 pm

      Hi Karen, thanks for commenting!

      The story behind that particular song being on the photo, is that we inherited the piano from an old lady, who died just last year. That song book came with the piano, and it seems that the lady was fond of that particular song, because it is practically the only place in the book that the book will stay open. The song is Swedish, and is called “Bred dina vida vingar”, in English it translates something as “Lay out your broad wings”.

      • November 17, 2010 3:03 pm

        What a lovely story. I looked up the song, it has a beautiful melody!

  5. Nevie permalink
    November 17, 2010 11:19 am

    Lovely calming tones in this triad here, exposing pieces from your “world”, my friend…
    The peace feeling I get is kind of intriguing me (is it obvious how important that is for me? ;) :D)…Without knowing why, I would add as well a “sterility” (in figurative meaning) impression…

    Found interesting the presence of framed pictures on the head level in the bedroom…Wonder, what has earned such a privilege or an importance to always “keep in mind” (both literally and figuratively, in this case ;))…

    • November 17, 2010 9:25 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Nevie, my friend! :-) And thank you for your kind words. Interesting to read your interpretation… I’m taking a step back, is this representative of my home? I would like to think so…

      As for the pictures above the bed, and how they earned their “privileged” position, as you say… Haven’t thought of it that way really, and there is actually nothing to the photos… They are soothing to the eye, that’a all. Everything is surface, there is nothing beneath. But of course, I might be mistaken… ;-)

      • Nevie permalink
        November 17, 2010 11:36 pm

        “Everything is surface, there is nothing beneath”?!…Ohhh…that sounds cruel…

  6. November 18, 2010 3:35 am

    What a lovely idea and the piano shot is my favourite. I also enjoyed your Autumn photos in a post below…that yellow is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

